US Senate Officially Recognizes Greece’s Bicentennial with Record Support

WASHINGTON, DC, March 24, 2021 – On the eve of Greece’s 200th anniversary of independence, a resolution highlighting the strong ties between the US and Greece, authored by the Chairman of the US Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Senator Bob Menendez, was unanimously passed by the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. It is expected to be passed by the full US Senate in the days ahead.

“We are proud to have been a part of the national effort that secured the support of over half of the US Senators – a record number in recent years – to ask to add their name to the resolution as a co-sponsor. This is the 36th consecutive year that we have worked with the US Senate to pass this resolution celebrating Greek Independence Day and democracy in Greece and the US,” said Andy Manatos, CEO of Manatos & Manatos.

“When we first secured the introduction of this resolution in 1986, one of the lead sponsors was then-Senator Joe Biden, and he continued throughout his Senate career to strongly support its passage every year,” added Manatos.

“We thank Chairman Menendez for his continued leadership in the US Senate in promoting US-Greece relations, as well as US-Cyprus relations, the religious freedom of the Ecumenical Patriarchate and other matters of concern to the Greek-American community. His efforts, particularly as Chairman, are invaluable,” said Mike Manatos, President of Manatos & Manatos.

For the full text of the S. Res. 34 click HERE.

A list of the 51 US Senators who have cosponsored this resolution is below.

Co-Sponsors of the 2021 Greek Independence Day Resolution

1. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) – Author
2. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) – Republican lead

3. Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO)
4. Senator Dick Blumenthal (D-CT)
5. Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ)
6. Senator John Boozman (R-AR)
7. Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
8. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
9. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
10. Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
11. Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)
12. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA)
13. Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)
14. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
15. Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)
16. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
17. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)
18. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
19. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
20. Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
21. Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
22. Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)
23. Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
24. Senator Mark Kelly (D-AZ)
25. Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)
26. Senator Angus King (I-ME)
27. Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
28. Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
29. Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)
30. Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT)
31. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)
32. Senator Gary Peters (D-MI)
33. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH)
34. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
35. Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
36. Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD)
37. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
38. Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI)
39. Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
40. Senator Rick Scott (R-FL)
41. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
42. Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
43. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
44. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC)
45. Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA)
46. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
47. Senator Raphael Warnock (D-GA)
48. Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
49. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
50. Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Recent Posts