United States Congress
 Commemorates Greek Independence

WASHINGTON, DC, March 24, 2023 – This week, legislation was introduced in the US Senate and US House of Representatives commemorating the 202nd anniversary of Greece’s independence and celebrating democracy in Greece and the US.

Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ), once again led this effort in the US Senate and Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) was again the lead Republican sponsor. They were joined by 41 other US Senators (list below) as original cosponsors of S. Res. 119 which was introduced in the US Senate yesterday.

In addition to celebrating Greece’s historic role as the birthplace of democracy and its immense contributions to global society, the bipartisan resolution also recognizes the strength of the United States’ enduring partnership and friendship with Greece. For the full text, click HERE.

“We thank Chairman Menendez for his continued leadership in the US Senate in promoting U.S. relations with our allies Greece and Cyprus, religious freedom for the Ecumenical Patriarchate and other matters of concern to the Greek-American community. His efforts, particularly as Chairman, are invaluable,” said Andy Manatos, CEO of Manatos & Manatos.

Co-sponsors of the 2023 Greek Independence Day Resolution:

  1. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) – Author
  2. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) – Republican lead
  3. Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO)
  4. Senator Dick Blumenthal (D-CT)
  5. Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ)
  6. Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
  7. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
  8. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
  9. Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
  10. Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)
  11. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA)
  12. Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)
  13. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
  14. Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  15. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
  16. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)
  17. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
  18. Senator John Fetterman (D-PA)
  19. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
  20. Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
  21. Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
  22. Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  23. Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
  24. Senator Mark Kelly (D-AZ)
  25. Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)
  26. Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
  27. Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT)
  28. Senator Alex Padilla (D-CA)
  29. Senator Gary Peters (D-MI)
  30. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
  31. Senator Pete Ricketts (R-NE)
  32. Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
  33. Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD)
  34. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
  35. Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
  36. Senator Rick Scott (R-FL)
  37. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
  38. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  39. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
  40. Senator Raphael Warnock (D-GA)
  41. Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
  42. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
  43. Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Co-Chair of the Hellenic Caucus, Congressman Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), led this effort in the House and was joined as original co-sponsors of this resolution by Caucus Co-Chair Chris Pappas (D-NH), Representatives Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), Frank Pallone (D-NJ), John Sarbanes (D-MD) and Dina Titus (D-NV).  The resolution highlights the hard-fought struggle for independence of the Greek people, and the historic and dynamic relationship that defines the deep American-Hellenic ties.

“We are grateful for the continued leadership of Congressman Bilirakis on all matters of importance to the Greek-American community, as well as the important and impactful work of his fellow Hellenes in Congress, Representatives Malliotakis, Pappas, Sarbanes, Titus and philhellene Pallone,” said Mike Manatos, President of Manatos & Manatos.

Recent Posts