Top US Policymakers Promote Strengthening of Cyprus-US Relations

WASHINGTON, DC, July 20 – Over 27 of the most powerful US Senators and Members of Congress in the formulation of US foreign policy spoke at the 36th Annual PSEKA Cyprus and Hellenic Leadership Conference on July 20. Cyprus Foreign Minister Nikos Christodoulides was joined by Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, the Chairmen of the Senate and House Foreign Relations/Affairs Committees Bob Menendez and Gregory Meeks, American Jewish Committee CEO David Harris, as well as Prime Minister of Greece Kyriakos Mitsotakis and Greek Orthodox Archbishop of America Elpidophoros and others by video.

While it took place on the 47th dark anniversary of Turkey’s illegal invasion and occupation of Cyprus, the focus was not on the past but on the future, particularly the recent remarkable strengthening of US-Cyprus bilateral relations in the face of Turkish intransigence.

The conference, which was watched by hundreds around the world, was hosted by PSEKA, Co-hosted by AHI, AHEPA, FCAO, HANC and HALC and Sponsored by the Cyprus-US Chamber of Commerce, the Panhellenic Federation of Florida and the Pancyprian Association of Florida.

To watch the full program click here:

Powerful Statements by Powerful Policymakers

Philip Christopher, Andy Manatos and Mike Manatos secured, as they have for this conference in previous years, some of the United States’ Congress most influential policymakers. They included 23 Chairs or Ranking Members of key foreign policy, defense, appropriations and energy-related committees and subcommittees or in the Leadership of the Senate or House. And they made some of the strongest statements yet in support of Cyprus-US relations. Senators and Members spoke not just about the injustice of Turkey’s continued occupation, but also the remarkable importance of Cyprus to the United States and US security interests in the Eastern Mediterranean.
They included:

• Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer
• Senate Majority Whip, Senator Dick Durbin
• Chairman, Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Senator Bob Menendez
• Chairman, Senate Armed Services Committee, Senator Jack Reed

• Chairman, Senate Foreign Operations Appropriations Subcommittee, Senator Chris Coons
• Chair, Senate Foreign Relations Europe Subcommittee, Senator Jeanne Shaheen
• Chairman, Senate Foreign Relations International Development Subc, Senator Ben Cardin
• Chairman, Sen. Foreign Relations Global Health Policy Subcommittee, Senator Chris Van Hollen
• Chairman, Senate Foreign Relations Cybersecurity Policy Subcommittee, Senator Ed Markey
• Chairman, Senate Foreign Relations Counterterrorism Subcommittee, Senator Chris Murphy

Members of Congress

• Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi
• Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Committee, Gregory Meeks
• Chair, House Appropriations Committee, Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro
• Chairman, House Energy Committee, Congressman Frank Pallone

• Chair, House Foreign Operations Appropriations Subcommittee, Congresswoman Barbara Lee
• Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Middle East Subcommittee Ted Deutch
• Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Western Hemisphere Subcommittee, Congressman Albio Sires
• Ranking Member, House Foreign Affairs Global Human Rights Subcommittee Chris Smith
• Ranking Member, House International Organizations Subcommittee, Congresswoman Nicole Malliotakis
• Member, House Foreign Affairs Europe Subcommittee, Congresswoman Dina Titus
• Member, House Foreign Affairs Europe Subcommittee, Congressman David Cicilline

• Co-Chair, House Republican Israeli Caucus / House Foreign Affairs Committee, Congressman Lee Zeldin
• Co-Founder and Co-Chair, Hellenic Caucus, Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney
• Co-Chair, Hellenic Israeli Alliance (CHIA) / Co-Chair, Hellenic Caucus, Congressman Gus Bilirakis

• Member, House Energy Committee, Congressman John Sarbanes
• Chairman, House Veterans Affairs Oversight Subcommittee, Congressman Chris Pappas
• Member, House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee, Congressman Charlie Crist

Recent Posts